Lessons from Broadway?

Can art inspire you to live or do we inspire art? Broadway inspired me last year. In fact, blessed to be the child of a lover of the arts, Broadway (and the Caribbean’s version of same) has always given my life…well theme music.

Last year, the green faced Elphaba in Tony Award winning “Wicked” performed Wicke’s signature performance that indeed was the theme for me this year:

“To those who’d ground me
Take a message back from me
Tell them how I am
Defying gravity
I’m flying high
Defying gravity
And soon I’ll match them in renown”

How many of us have accepted limits because “others said they are so”? Whether it is in our field, life or love, it is time for more to be willing  to do, as Elphaba did and learn to leap without looking.

So as this year ends, as communicators already have concretized plans for the next, make a plan to chart a new course. Defy gravity. Be an inspiration – you are a masterpiece waiting to be unveiled.

Hugs!

 

Leave a Reply

