3 Responses to “Is Social Media Effective in Politics? Soon the Caribbean Can Answer”

  1. Kevin Says:

    excellent as usual, although I think you put a wrong link to the Kamla page, it resolves to a picture of a girl who may not be too pleased that her picte is link from your blog 🙂

    I would say that I have been able to avoid the political discourse (by choice as I am skeptical about the whole electioneering thing) by ignoring the ads (as I do with all ads) and avoiding the FB pages.

    With respect to the ads though, i would be alarmed if as a website owner, an ad placer could place political ads on my site without my ok. I might be a jehovah’s witness who does not believe in participating in the Political process, or I may be a known and prominent supporter of one political party, and the ads of another party appear on my site. I don’t know, but I imagine that the ad company’s must have some sort of filter they can apply at the request of the site owner.

    A fellow digital convert…

  2. Natalia Says:

    Hey Danielle,

    Great post! I think you’ve raised an important point regarding if how we vote is how we socialize 🙂 I can venture to guess that it’s not, regardless of the result of the election I don’t think the electorate is evenly reflected on social media just yet. But it’s great to see discussions and especially great to see politicians expanding there reach into the virtual world in an attempt to go where the ‘young people’ are 🙂 You and I are still in that group LOL amazing eh!

  3. Communication Lessons from the Campaigns? There are many « Communication Questions Says:

    […] As said before, following the election, the real winner will be the social media researchers, commentators and marketers who have long searched for a Caribbean based case study on the usage of social media and the effective use of media as a whole in political campaigns. For these reasons, I am glad the 2010 election occured. […]

Leave a Reply

