9 Responses to “When will WE be featured? Are Caribbean Women’s Achievements > Being Pretty?”

  1. Ocean Style Magazine Says:

    We are pleased to note that we have featured Sharon Christopher in a past issue of Ocean Style in our Woman Of Influence feature. I take your larger point but also suggest that some of these very powerful and successful women in the Caribbean also have to walk a fine line because while that promotion is important, in a small society it has the very real potential to backfire if not treated very delicately. So that these individuals must balance the risk of APPEARING TO BE self-promoting and egotistical with whether that will help them to further their careers and add to their list of achievements.

    We would like to see more of them recognized for their remarkable talents and achievements and will certainly share your note internally with our editorial team.

    info@oceanstylemagazine.com

    • caribbeancontessa Says:

      Big props to Ocean Style Magazine for 1. Correcting me (they featured Sharon Christopher 2. reading the blog and 3 posting a comment – beyond just defending their mag!. That’s great work guys. I am impressed and your feedback is noted.

  2. Mark Lyndersay Says:

    These are some of the women that I’ve photographed for Womanwise…
    http://lyndersaydigital.com/tvg/xibit/ww.html

    I’m hoping that the editor takes me up on my offer to expand my participation beyond the ‘stars’ I’ve been asked to work with because I find working with women who are stepping up to a cover slot for the first time to be such an exhilarating and ultimately rewarding challenge.

    I’ll take protests of unreadiness and nervousness about their looks any day over practiced poses and rehearsed smiles that are exactly the right size.

    There’s work from an entire book that I did with Radhica Saith in the late 1980’s that I have to clean up and post on these pages. That work, ‘Why not a woman’, featured interviews and a photograph of close to 100 women in non-traditional roles and was something of a groundbreaker in portraying women as ready for every path available in the workplace. Regrettably, it’s been out of print for some time.

    I hear your concerns, and as a man raised by a single mother with two sisters, I have a strong yearning to portray women as the heroes I was raised to understand that they are.

    • caribbeancontessa Says:

      Mark, you owe it to the world to post that information on Radhica on the web – we want it asap! Thanks for the comment and no wonder you’re so great – WOMAN POWER rubs off! 🙂

      You are an irresistable magnet for all that belongs to you by Divine right. – Florence Schovel Shin SO Never think that’s God’s delays are God’s denials. Hold on; Hold fast and Hold strong.

  3. Congo Says:

    I really appreciate the fact that you’ve set up your own web resource and have in fact publish your thoughts. I like your work and feel I can refer to what you’ve done. Lots of folks can’t even imagine having such talent. I hope that you know how lucky you are. 🙂 Good luck to you in ALL your aspirations. 🙂

  4. simone Says:

    I’ve been thinking of this very thing. In November, as part of the International 16 days of Activism Against Gender Violence Campaign, I’d like WomenSpeak to feature the work of 16 women who are working in different areas to eliminate violence against women. I’m hoping to make it a regional photography or video project. Perhaps you’d like to help plan? We need all the help we can get.

  5. delgabre Says:

    Although this blog is ….. Can you believe it almost 2 years old; it’s still relevant!!! I watched last night on CNN Inside Africa and got the feeling that even the African Women are up and coming and will soon leave us Caribbean Women behind, especially as Entrepreneurs.

    Where are our Oprah’s or Tyra’s or Princesses or Alemu’s being represented for their achievements?!?! …… Now don’t get me wrong, We sometimes see Strong Caribbean Women highlighted in National Papers or Caribbean featured articles, but what I mean is; where are we as Caribbean Women on the Global and International Stage?

    Maybe it’s time WE stop wondering where we are on the World Stage and make it ‘A’ Priority as Caribbean Woman in creating OPPORTUNITIES to help get ourselves as Caribbean Women!!! No matter where we now live; we need to have a stronger presence in the international media; especially for our Accomplishments!!!

    Let’s start using or culture, heritage as well as our ability to press forward because pretty soon we will be left behind……

    Nicole
    http://delgabre.wordpress.com/about/

  6. Robert Says:

    Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to understand a lot about this, such as you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you simply could do with some % to force the message house a bit, however other than that, that is great blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

